We have answers!
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A LICENSE AND A CERTIFICATION?
A license is issued by a legal governing body, whereas a certification can be issued by anyone but is not recognized by state/local laws. An example would by an Eye Extension Provider License issued by TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation) vs a certificate of completion from a third party course.
DO YOU OFFER FINANCIAL AID?
Yes and No. Since we are registered by TDLR as a "Private School", we do not receive any state funding for financial aid. However, we do offer very competitive tuition pricing and extremely flexible financial assistance plans.
HOW MUCH IS TUITION TO ENROLL INTO ONE OF YOUR PROGRAMS?
We pride ourselves with extremely affordable tuition and while staying competitive with other schools. Courses vary by the amount of hours required by state law and instructors required for courses. For more specifics questions on enrollment and tuition, we highly do recommend that you come in person and take a tour of our facility.
WHAT IF I DO NOT LIVE IN THE HOUSTON AREA FOR A FACILITY TOUR?
Please call or email us if you live out of state or in another city. A staff member will reply with you with further details. Again, it is very important for us that you see our facilities first before any tuition pricing can be discussed. We will work with you on a case by case basis.
WHAT ARE THE GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS?
In order to receive your diploma and official transcript, you must complete the required program hours, successfully pass the didactic and practical exams, and complete the required practical procedures regulated by TDLR.
TELL ME ABOUT THE CLASSES. WHAT SHOULD I EXPECT?
Our classes are very diversified with flexible scheduling. You are not going to be stuck in a classroom all day. We have lectures, of course, but we also have live demonstrations, guest speakers, visual aides and practical applications.
DO I NEED A LICENSE TO TAKE THE "ADVANCE COURSES"?
Yes! Our basic courses that we offer gives you only the foundation required to work legally and safely in The State of Texas. If you already hold a license from another state or cosmetology school, you can still take our "Advance Courses" given that the prerequisites have been met.
WHEN CAN I START CLASSES?
At Elite Beauty Academy we have an open enrollment policy and programs are offered continuously. Since we offer flexible scheduling, you can start the desired program at anytime and attend classes that you may have missed on the next available date that it is offered again.
WHEN DO I BEGIN TO WORK ON “REAL PEOPLE”?
After the first phase of 150 hours of lecture and training, you will be working on both school approved patrons and mannequins.
DO I HAVE TO STAY ALL DAY FOR CLASSES?
We do understand that our students do have other jobs or family commitments. We have a "revolving door policy". Students clock in and out when they are present for classes or application practice. You can leave and go as you please. If a course is missed for a certain time slot, it will be repeated again at another date and time. As long as you have the required lectures checked off, completion of our programs is tailored to your schedule.
IS THERE A MINIMUM AGE TO ENROLL?
Yes, you must be at least 17 years of age to enroll into one of our programs.
DO I NEED TO HAVE A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA?
No, but if you do not have one, you will need a GED certificate or be able to demonstrate the ability to benefit from the training by passing the BST (Basic Skills Test) offered at Elite Beauty Academy.
ONCE I FINISH THE PROGRAM, WHEN WILL I RECEIVE MY LICENSE?
To get your license, you must pass an examination administered by (TDLR) at a controlled off-site location. In order for you to be successful on exam day, we will prepare you with mock board exams throughout the program.
STILL HAVE QUESTIONS?
Call or e-mail us for any questions or concerns that you may still have.